FIFA World Cup 2014 Prize Money

FIFA has increase the prize money of 2014 FIFA World cup to $576 million in total where the winner will pocket $35 million while the runner ups will go home with $25 million. rest of the details can be found below

World cup prize money details

Break Down of Prize Money
Phase Countries Prize
Initial fee 32 $1.5 million
Group stage eliminated teams 16 $8 million
1st Knockout Stage Losers 8 $9 million
Quarter Finals stage losing teams 4 $14 million
Fourth Place finish 1 $20 million
3rd Place playoff winners 1 $22 million
World Cup Runner-ups 1 $25 million
World Cup 2014 Winners 1 $35 million
Legacy to Brazilian football Money to Brazil FA $20 million
Players Insurance Fifa protection programe $100 million
Payment to player’s clubs $70 million


FIFA World Cup is just around the corner and since it is the highest paying team competition in the world and that too by far, we broke down the prize money to be awarded in 2014 FIFA World Cup. In total there will be 576 million usd to be allocated for the purpose of prize money, winners of the competition will recieve $35 Million while runners will pocket $25 million which is 30% more than last world cup held in Africa.